Students who are ages 15 and up have the opportunity to take advantage of the convenience of this Driver’s Ed Classroom Theory Program at WT’s City Campus. Start the school year off right as you prepare yourself for your upcoming driver’s test. Whether it’s in the classroom or on the road, young drivers will benefit from thorough training. Parents may even enjoy a discount on insurance as a result – an amazing return on your investment!
Here is what we will cover in the classroom theory portion of your training:
- Passive restraint systems, air bags, and anti-lock braking systems
- Occupant Kinematics – the science of crash testing
- Reaction distance, braking distance, and total stopping distance
- Effects of natural forces on a car in motion, including centripetal force, centrifugal force, and friction
- Study of the Implied Consent Laws, Driving Under the Influence (DUI) penalties, Blood Alcohol Content, etc.
- “Driver’s License Compact” (DLC) – used to exchange information concerning license suspensions and traffic violations of non-residents, and forward the information to the state where the driver was licensed
- Highway signage, road signs, pavement markings, etc.
- Interpretation and application
- Construction zones
- The Pennsylvania point system, point distribution, and removal
- Graduated licensing and pedestrian safety, such as the right-of-way of pedestrians in crosswalks
- Taking the permit test and road test
- Introduction of “House Bill 10” in Pennsylvania and what it means to teen population in PA
- Reactions to funerals, emergency vehicles, and railroad crossings
The 30-hour theory course is required in addition to six hours of behind-the-wheel instruction for the benefit of an insurance reduction. To participate in the classroom drivers theory course, the student does not have to be 16 years of age and does not need to have a Learner’s Permit. Once the student is 16 years of age and obtains a PA Learner’s Permit, he or she may call to schedule the six hours of behind-the-wheel driving instruction. Driving instruction is given in four, 90-minute sessions and will total six hours upon completion.
**Combined program includes an insurance certificate